Oxygen's revisions system grants some redundancy and recoverability to your designs. Once a design in Oxygen has been initially saved, revisions are created every time you save your work in Oxygen’s editor.
Note: Oxygen’s revisions system does not create revisions of any changes to Global Settings, Global Styles, Stylesheets, or Selectors.
Note: It is very important to keep regular backups of your site. There are certain scenarios where the Oxygen revisions system cannot help you, and a backup will be the only way to recover your designs.
Previewing and Restoring a Revision
You can access the revisions for any post or template by clicking the +Revisions link at the bottom of the Oxygen meta box.
To preview a revision, click the "Preview" link in the revision list. This will launch that version of your design in a new tab.
Once you have found the revision you'd like to restore, click the "Restore" link and that version of your design will be restored. The design that was active before you restored will also be saved as a new revision. You can now see which revision of your design you are using by looking for the (current) indicator in the revision list.
Sometimes, you may find you need to delete a revisions on your site. This can be accomplished by deleting an individual revision, deleting all revisions on a post, or deleting all revisions on your site.
Note: Deleting a revision using any of the methods below is permanent and cannot be undone.
Deleting Individual Revisions on a Post
To delete an individual revision, click the +Revisions link at the bottom of the Oxygen meta box. Then, click “Delete” on the specific revision you’d like to remove. You’ll see a prompt in the browser to confirm deletion.
Deleting ALL Revisions on a Post
To delete all revisions on a post, click the +Revisions link at the bottom of the Oxygen meta box. Then, click the “Delete all Post Revisions” button. You’ll see a prompt in the browser to confirm deletion.
Deleting ALL Revisions on a Site
To delete all revisions on a site, go to Oxygen > Settings > Revisions in the WordPress Admin area and type “delete” into the confirmation textbox under the Delete ALL Revisions section. Then, click the Delete button.
You may set the maximum number of Revisions in Oxygen by going to Oxygen > Settings > Revisions in the WordPress Admin area and modifying the options under the Revisions section.
There are two settings available for Oxygen's Revisions System:
- Maximum number of latest revisions: This option sets the maximum number of revisions will be stored for an individual post. Once there are more than x number of revisions, the oldest qualifying revision will be deleted. By default, Oxygen will store 20 of the latest revisions.
- Maximum number of daily revisions: This option sets the maximum number of days Oxygen will save at least 1 revision for an individual post. By default, this will store at least 1 revision for the last 7 days that Oxygen has been edited.